needles: (emma; the promised neverland) (you will always have a place here)
i'll do what you ask me. ([personal profile] needles) wrote in [community profile] tones_tcg2014-12-27 12:46 pm

♪ Prejoin Day 10: Sing Me a Song(...?)



Tell me about your musical interests, Tones. Do you sing like an angel? Or are you the kind to sing out of key? Do you play any instruments, and if so which ones? Are you a member of a band? Or do you produce music in a different way, be it through remixes, original composition, being a Vocaloid producer, or something else? Even if you aren't particularly musically inclined, would you like to be? What sort of songs would you cover? Anything related to your personal musical skills is welcome during this discussion.

For answering any (or all...) of these questions, you'll receive 5 random cards. As with all of the prejoin games and discussions, this game will close January 7th, 2015 (GMT-10).
kuranosuke: Prince of Tennis ★  Shiraishi (K.O.)

[personal profile] kuranosuke 2014-12-27 07:31 pm (UTC)(link)
I sing a lot when I'm alone or with friends. I'm too shy to perform, but I like singing with people I know - like singstar or just something else that comes to mind. I don't consider myself very good though. I don't think I'd be very good with music otherwise... well except maybe knowing the lyrics to most obscure Finnish songs.

[personal profile] oriaon 2014-12-27 08:12 pm (UTC)(link)
I am the most off-key singer :P

Instruments though, I've been playing piano since I was three, and learned the recorder through books. We learned the kazoo in middle school and I think I still have that sitting around somewhere. I've got a guitar I'm trying to learn how to use but either it's too big or my fingers aren't long/flexible enough for me to touch all the strings without getting in the way of others xD; My brother's been trying to get me to play the harmonica, but I can't seem to morph my lips so I only blow into a single hole...
perarduaadast: (Tones)

[personal profile] perarduaadast 2014-12-27 08:35 pm (UTC)(link)
I love to sing things from musicals! I tend to get self-conscious and I don't sing things that I don't think I can handle well, but once I find a song that I genuinely enjoy singing? Man, all bets are off that's getting sung at the drop of a hat. I memorize lyrics anyway, though, just because it's always fun to know. Any and all songs, sign me up!

Also "Ghostbusters" will always be one of the most fun songs to sing ever. Who you gonna call?

[personal profile] sal 2014-12-27 10:41 pm (UTC)(link)
One time a couple of years ago when I was the only one at home I sung the majority of the High School Musical 1&2 songs on a Skype call to my friend and it was a very thrilling experience. It left my throat pretty dry after being so many voices in so many songs, though, but it was very funny and I still laugh at the memories of it to this day. Omg.

So, I don't know if you'd really call me skilled at all when it comes to singing, but I do have fun with it on rare occasions where I am bored and alone and/or when I want to make my online friends laugh.
beezebeora: (Default)

[personal profile] beezebeora 2014-12-28 04:52 am (UTC)(link)
I like to THINK I sing pretty well on key. Thought, Its hard to tell if I am the one singing, I just hear myself and say wow your so pro. But then again, I bet I am not. I don't usually sing infront of people, so its hard to know. As for instruments, I play the piano, and sometimes I might compose something. Though, I have only composed something on the computer once, and it came out pretty cool, but to embarrassed to show it haha.

As for Vocaloids, back in the day when the Hatsune Miku program first came out, I did a cover of a Yugioh song, and it was pretty good, but I had some troubles with the program, so I dropped interest in it. Thats about it.
instrumentality: (Default)

[personal profile] instrumentality 2014-12-28 05:05 am (UTC)(link)
I don't think I sing well, but I definitely enjoy it. Especially when I'm with people I know and we start singing anime songs. XD I've actually done karaoke in NYC too, at Asian run places, and it's freakin' awesome. You're in the individual rooms with the puffy couches and it's cool. My boyfriend and I went awhile ago, and I figured out some of the anime numbers, and we tried to sing Guren no Yumiya but the lyrics were CRAZY FAST and like, pulsing red in and out and impossible to read, LMFAO (they were in Japanese anyway, but yeah...). So we laughed about how no one would be able to do it if they didn't know the words.

If I could, I'd play a lot of instruments! Piano and guitar in particular. I used to play violin when I was younger, but once I got to the end of middle school the teachers were super-crazy about it and I was like '... yeah, this is a hobby, I'm not going to be a professional violinist'. So I dropped out of it. I do kind of regret it, though.
scblakdrgon: (Default)

[personal profile] scblakdrgon 2014-12-28 07:14 am (UTC)(link)
I usually sing with my roommate on Fridays, I'm better at the higher notes and she's better at the lower ones. I like singing along to anime songs as well. I also play the violin and have played Lugia's Song and Sakura Kiss on it.
hanakoanime: Sorairo Muffler Cover; After Rain Quest. (Default)

[personal profile] hanakoanime 2014-12-28 08:00 am (UTC)(link)
My ability to sing... is completely non-existent. I've been to told to lip-sync if it came down to it. And instruments are not my thing; I've tried playing an ukelele once, and I gave up. I also tried to learn the piano, but my fingers were too slow. I think that's why I had nothing to do with band/orchestra/chorus/whatever else music class they had at my high school; the only musical thing I did at school was the graduation song(s).

I would like to produce songs, but I don't make lyrics (what are poems?) and I don't have the ability to make BGM. I'd also like to try covering songs if I could with Vocaloids, but I'm too poor, I don't understand what the program actually wants me to do, and I don't have the time to play around. I translate(?) songs, if that counts as contribution to the Vocaloid fandom.

I also have a problem with sharing, as I tend to overthink everything (which is probably why I don't have many friends.) So even if I was musically talented, I probably wouldn't post much on the internet, or anywhere.
toxicroak: (I guess you get used to it)

[personal profile] toxicroak 2014-12-28 03:03 pm (UTC)(link)
I cannot sing at all but aw man you know I'm gonna Get Downnnnnn at karaoke. I am very good at shouting and knowing lyrics.

I have zero music talent except maybe like     groovin~ I played trumpet in middle school and it was ok, but I hated it because my entire class was 12 year old boys...
If I have time/motivation/the means to one day, I'd like to learn, like, piano or something so I could SING WITH MY FINGERTIPS
netbug009: Colors TCG - Netbug (Default)

[personal profile] netbug009 2014-12-28 06:18 pm (UTC)(link)
I come from a musical legacy and when I was little I wanted to be a singer like my mom. I don't really like the sound of my own voice to be honest, but people say I'm pretty good so I've grown to pride myself in my singing. I'm not professional level or anything, but I tend to surprise people when I sing - I wonder what that says about my speaking voice. XDDDD;;;

I entered a con karaoke contest this year and while I didn't win, one of the judges made sure to tell me they liked me performance, which is good because I had no idea how well I'd done on a scale of "alright" to "SUCK" without someone else to comment on it. My voice was almost dead that morning and I've been spamming honey sticks and ginger tea just to be able to sing a lower octave song! 8'D

So yeah TL;DR I don't want to be a singer for a living anymore, but singing for fun is still kinda srs bsns for me.
ravengown: (Default)

[personal profile] ravengown 2014-12-29 10:29 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm not much of a singer, but I played violin! I played for around ten years but I quit in college because I stopped having time, unfortunately. I would love to produce Vocaloid songs though :( maybe when I get a better computer...
jenybear: (Default)

[personal profile] jenybear 2014-12-31 02:55 am (UTC)(link)
Gosh, I am musically handicapped. I can't sing, I sometimes think the shower is crying when I do. Instruments, I did take piano lessons but I retained nothing. I am not a member of a band, and I don't produce remixes or mixes or vocaloid songs.

I would love to have some musical talent, be it with an instrument or singing.
honeybrushedheart: (Yessss shinies; Kaori)

[personal profile] honeybrushedheart 2014-12-31 08:35 am (UTC)(link)
I don't think I'm that great of a singer myself though I'm sure some of my friends would disagree??? Although some of my friends on Skype have/had an old joke based on a random "karaoke" night we did in a voice chat years ago that involved me singing Untouched by The Veronicas and I haven't really lived it down since from some folks....

I really like to randomly sing along to songs whenever I'm doing the dishes though! And listening to music generally helps me concentrate on stuff a bit better when I need it, plus I played the flute all through middle school and high school....

So I guess you could say I fuckin love music, yo. 8D Sometimes I feel like I eat, breathe, and bleed it with how much I enjoy it.
highgardener: (Default)

[personal profile] highgardener 2015-01-01 02:39 am (UTC)(link)
I'm a singer. I sing in the car, I sing at work to the songs that have replayed every day for the past 3 years, I burst into song at random intervals as a joke-- yeah, I never shut up. I used to be in choir, but due to a string of bad teachers, I quit, and never went back. I actually really miss singing seriously- maybe it's something I'll revisit in the new year? Who knows!
shinsengumi: mushishi: ginko (love♥shine)

[personal profile] shinsengumi 2015-01-01 05:26 pm (UTC)(link)
I sing all the time! I am fine on rhythm and cues, but terrible in terms of tone and control. I'd like to think I'm good, but living with someone who actually had singing training has taught me to know otherwise. However, I am a practisioner of spontaneous karaoke, which happens when people around me use just about any given phrase and I start singing a song it appears in.
shonen: (ane » rin)

[personal profile] shonen 2015-01-02 12:30 am (UTC)(link)
i really love to sing but i'm afraid i'm no good at it. a couple of people have told me i have a nice singing voice, but i'm pretty sure they were just being polite u_u i played a few instruments in grade school but was never any good. one of my long term goals for a while now has been to learn how to play the piano but i don't know if i'll ever get to
skybuns: (wesley)

[personal profile] skybuns 2015-01-02 10:53 pm (UTC)(link)
I don't engage in any musical hobbies or professions, except for the random belting out of songs while listening to them on my computer. I'm not horrible, but I wouldn't be able to qualify as a singer of any sort either.

I wish I took up an instrument though, either the piano or the violin. I can play the flute, and the Chinese flute, but I'm not great at either. I also kind of wish I took some vocal lessons? I love singing songs.
danybel: (Rin)

[personal profile] danybel 2015-01-04 01:33 pm (UTC)(link)
I like singing along with my music, no matter what it is or what language it is, I sometimes don't get the lyrics right but I don't really care hahaha. I used to be part of a choir when i was in high school, singing as a soprano, which was extremely tiring because my voice range doesn't go that high but the choir didn't have mezzo so yeah, fun times, we used to perform at special occasions and we even went to competitions twice. I also learnt how to play the piano in university so i know the basics for it but i never practice which i would like to do this year
vinheim: (thoughtful? kouta)

[personal profile] vinheim 2015-01-05 03:04 am (UTC)(link)
I used to sing a lot as a kid, and I loved it, but I'm not sure if I was really any good... I don't much anymore, even casually? I also used to play piano but I've mostly forgotten how. I'd really like to learn how to play again, though! I have a ton of sheet music from various places, but I can't even really read it anymore orz
admiral: gwendolyn → odin sphere (save the last dance for me)

[personal profile] admiral 2015-01-05 11:31 am (UTC)(link)
I am a terrrrrible singer and I sing all the time. Senior year of college we had a suite with a huge tv thanks to one of our roommates and we'd all hang out and karaoke on weekends haha I'm sure everyone in the building around us hated us. (But we never got any noise complaints?? So maybe not.)

I also played the viola for 10 years in grade school, but unfortunately my college didn't have an orchestra and you had to pay for real lessons so I stopped playing. :/ That's probably one of my bigger regrets, I loved orchestra a lot but I wasn't very good at viola either pfft....
sinew: (Default)

[personal profile] sinew 2015-01-06 11:33 am (UTC)(link)
i don't sing very well, but i do have fun singing and therefore do it anyway? :,) i wish i could compose nice stuff tho! *A* the only thing i do is... c...ough... i follow translations of japanese lyrics to create an english equivalent that fits syllables..... which i guess kinda requires being able to uh, meter out the sullables??? orz
kagehina: (Default)

[personal profile] kagehina 2015-01-06 05:33 pm (UTC)(link)
I can't sing well at all but I still do it and no one will stop me. I only sing when I'm all alone at home though or when I'm having karaoke war party with irl friends?? The latter one is really a rare occasion as it happens like.. once, maybe twice a year.
AS FOR INSTURMENTS.. I used to play guitar and it was fun I think I was fairly good at it? But then I sold it. Sorry but Pokemon X was more important than anything to me back then. I kinda know how to play flute too but I wouldn't call myself an expert at it????
nyxnoxbox: Precious embarrassed baby (Default)

[personal profile] nyxnoxbox 2015-01-06 10:33 pm (UTC)(link)
I don't feel like I sing super well, but it could be worse? I'd like to get better though, so I should practice! It'd be a lot of fun to make English covers of various songs... My only musical background was I played clarinet and was in choir a bit in elementary school, but I don't think I was all that good in either they didn't last long, haha.
mori: (Default)

[personal profile] mori 2015-01-07 05:50 am (UTC)(link)
I'm totally tone deaf when it comes to singing, but I really love singing anyway if I'm alone. I tend to have a problem keeping up with songs that aren't in English, though, so most of the time I just kind of hum along to anime songs or any other foreign language ones.

And I don't particularly care one way or the other anymore (since my interests have shifted to other things), but when I was younger, I really wanted to learn an instrument. Two of my friends tried to help me learn how to play the piano and guitar, but I never got the hang of them and got frustrated too easily not being able to keep up with their lessons. Part of me wishes I had tried a little harder, but eh, things happen.